“For pain and suffering. . .”

( Lt. John Pike of the UC) ” was just awarded $38,000 in workers’ compensation by the state university for the pain and suffering that he endured as a result of the experience. . . ” (http://jobs.aol.com/articles/2013/10/24/pepper-spraying-occupy-cop-awarded-38-000-for-psychiatric-inju/?icid=maing-grid7%7Cmain5%7Cdl3%7Csec1_lnk3%26pLid%3D396142)

Not a terribly unique occurrence, but for me, it’s another swipe in the emotional equivalent of that Chinese torture “Death of a Thousand Cuts.” It hasn’t been enough to merely “encourage” people to “buckle up” (Hey, it’s only first amendment) or have cars ding at you on startup (Which you’re legally not allowed to disable–so much for “private” property), now cars periodically check and ding if there’s any seat with enough weight on it to be a person with an unbuckled belt.

As far as I’m concerned, this has legally passed into the realm of harassment. This is, in essence, your private property performing a Government-commanded search without your consent of your cars interior. Combine it with the periodic “enforcement campaigns” and you’ve got Government-sanctioned bullying. And that’s putting it nicely. I do not refrain from using the word “torture.”

And I’m faced with it nearly every day of my life, wondering when I’m not going to be able to avoid, what has become–thanks to the slavebelt Nazis getting their way in the world–a torture chamber. I feel like a Jew being asked to take a shower. Or worse, I’ll be somehow rendered into a state where I’m unable to voice my desire to not be in a car, and somone will “kindly” assume that I am “okay” with having my most basic freedom (freedom of motion) handed over to an inanimate object with “intelligence” comparable to the ambient temperature. In Celsius. In Antarctica.

And what do I get for this everyday, ongoing, progressive torture? Deaf ears when I plead my case. A confined world for lack of acceptable travel. Life downgraded from “middle class” to “destitution” by lack of jobs that don’t involve commuting. The knowledge that I’m being taxed to pay for it (pro-lifers can claim exemption against paying for birth control, but pro-free riders have to support their nemesis). And the maddening stories of people like John Pike, who get compensated for the “emotional pain” stemming from a single event, while people like me get a bill for the “emotional pain” of a near-lifetime of torture.

This entry was posted in Safe TEA First and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

